Education in Buffering mode!

Buffering! It was very clear that this is one of the biggest challenges in online space. How do I know this for sure? The fact that almost all video content is inaccessible on my mobile phone (unless I use 3G), and even if I do upgrade to 3G, quality comes into the picture. Viewing bad quality video which pixelates too much doesn’t help either.

In fact, I came to realize this when I wanted to learn from online MOOCs. I wanted to take online courses from Coursera, Udemy, etc., to learn new skills and was just not able to learn from my smart phone. I figured that I needed to invest lot of money to learn this, even though it’s been made available for free online. This means, I needed a computer / laptop / tablet (about INR 10,000 to 30,000) and a high speed internet connection (about INR 2000 per month) without which it’s practically impossible to access these learning videos.

Photo credits: http://pemadonyo.wordpress.com/tag/gratitude/

Photo credits: Pema donyo

In today’s scenario, getting student’s attention to learn is the biggest challenge faced by teachers all over the world. But imagine this, if there’s a motivated student who wants to learn, and it is available to him for free online, but he’s not able to access them because of investments like hardware devices and internet connections on a monthly bases. This is a bad situation for any knowledge hungry student, who might lose motivation over a period of time and remain unlearned.

That’s when I started OpenSourceEducation, an online portal to give easy access to educational video content on any device, without buffering! It works seamlessly even with low speed 2G internet connection with good video viewing experience without pixilation.

Now we have not one, but two challenges ahead of us.
1. Buffering
2. Education video content

How do we overcome this was the next big task!

Leave a Reply

